Form 5472 filing services compared: price, speed and who checks your forms
Short answer: Form 5472 services come in three kinds. Self-serve software ($79.99–$248): you enter your details and get the forms in one sitting. Done-for-you services ($149–$299): the provider prepares the forms and a person reviews them. CPA-signed filings ($399–$547). 5472Direct is self-serve software, and with its $49 fax option your packet is checked by hand before it’s sent.
By Thibault Chassagnol, founder of 5472Direct
Published
IRS facts checked against the Instructions for Form 5472 (Rev. 12/2024).
We make 5472Direct. It’s one row in the table, in the self-serve group, sorted by price like the others. Details about the other services are copied from their own pages, and Trustpilot scores from Trustpilot, on October 19, 2026. Prices change, so check the provider’s page before you buy.
Key takeaways
- Sent to the IRS, one current-year filing costs $79.99 to $547 at the services below.
- Self-serve software ($79.99–$248) gives you the forms in one sitting: you enter your details and the software fills them in. Of the four tools here, only 5472Direct says it checks the packet by hand before it’s faxed (with its $49 fax option).
- Done-for-you services ($149–$299) prepare the forms from your details, and a tax accountant, a specialist or a CPA reviews them. Form5472 Prep says its forms are ready in 24 hours ($199) or 5–7 business days ($149).
- A CPA signs the filing only at form5472.online ($448–$547) and on form5472.ai’s plan from $399.
- Edetax, form5472.io, 5472Direct, form5472.ai and form5472.online name the company behind them on their own sites. Snapfile and Form5472 Prep name none in their terms or privacy policy, and we found neither page on form5472.tax.
- Most services here also file earlier years, at a price per year. 5472Direct files tax year 2025, also after the deadline; earlier years are planned for the 2027 season.
The services side by side
Grouped by who does the work, then sorted by the price of one current-year filing sent to the IRS. Each row points to its entry in the sources at the end of the page.
Self-serve software
- EdetaxSource 1, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRS$79.99 with fax (current-year filing “opens January 15”)
- Who checks it before it’s sentThe wizard “validates before you submit”. Its terms: “NOT a Certified Public Accountant (CPA)”
- Ready in, as stated“Complete both forms in under 10 minutes”
- Earlier years$79.99 a year, “Any tax year from 2017 onwards”
- RefundsFull refund if the fax fails “after all automatic retries”; otherwise “all sales are final once the process is initiated”
- Trustpilot4.4 (11 reviews)
- Company behind itWe Know Things LLC, Albuquerque, New Mexico
- SnapfileSource 2, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRS$89 with fax
- Who checks it before it’s sent“System checks for completeness and format”. Its terms: “We are not a CPA firm”
- Ready in, as stated“15 min your time”
- Earlier years+$69 per past year
- RefundsFull refund if the fax can’t be delivered after its automatic retry; re-prepares and re-faxes “at no additional charge” if the IRS rejects the filing for a Snapfile preparation error
- TrustpilotNo profile found
- Company behind itNone named in its terms or privacy policy
- form5472.ioSource 3, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRS$197 on the plan that includes the fax (it covers 2 LLCs); $147 without the fax
- Who checks it before it’s sentSoftware: “Our AI reviews every field on your form”
- Ready in, as stated“From signup to filed in 15 minutes”
- Earlier years“Late filing supported”; prices for earlier years not stated
- Refunds“30-day money-back guarantee”
- TrustpilotNo profile found
- Company behind itForm5472, LLC, named in its terms
- 5472Direct (this site)Source 4, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRS$248 with the check and the fax ($199 if you send it yourself)
- Who checks it before it’s sentChecked by hand: missing fields, typos and formatting (with the $49 fax)
- Ready in, as statedPDFs right after you pay. The check usually takes 1–12 hours
- Earlier yearsTax year 2025 only, at the same price after the deadline. Earlier years are planned for the 2027 season
- RefundsFull refund within 30 days, for any reason, until you download your packet or we fax it
- Trustpilot4.6 (18 reviews)
- Company behind itThibaultC LLC, d/b/a 5472Direct, Sheridan, Wyoming
Done for you
- Form5472 PrepSource 5, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRS$149, or $199 for Express, fax included
- Who checks it before it’s sent“Reviewed by a PTIN-holding tax accountant before submission”
- Ready in, as stated“About 15 minutes” of your time, then “Ready in 5-7 business days”, or “Ready to sign within 24 hours” on Express
- Earlier years+$99 per additional year
- RefundsFull refund before preparation starts; the fee minus work already done until submission; after submission “no refund is available”
- Trustpilot4.0 (3 reviews)
- Company behind itNone named in its terms or privacy policy
- form5472.aiCPA-reviewed planSource 6, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRS$299, with “IRS submission + written confirmation”. Its page offers it for “a single-member LLC with a straightforward filing”
- Who checks it before it’s sent“Prepared by our tax professional filing team and reviewed by a licensed CPA”
- Ready in, as statedNot stated
- Earlier years$399 a year, CPA-prepared; IRS submission is +$49 (“Preparation only; submission separate”)
- RefundsChange-of-mind refunds at its discretion, until 48 hours after payment or until you get client-portal access, whichever comes first
- TrustpilotNo profile found
- Company behind itform5472.ai LLC, Brooklyn, New York, “operated by Tax USA Inc.”
- form5472.taxSource 7, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRS$299, “flat, all-in”, including “Filing with the IRS (mail or fax)”
- Who checks it before it’s sent“Specialist review before filing”
- Ready in, as statedNot stated
- Earlier years$299 per unfiled year
- RefundsNot stated on the pages we read
- TrustpilotNo profile found
- Company behind itNone named, and we found no terms or privacy policy on its site
A CPA prepares and signs
- form5472.aiCPA-prepared planSource 6, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRSFrom $399; IRS submission isn’t listed in this plan. Its page says to choose it for “a single-member LLC with reportable transactions, a multi-member LLC, a C corporation, or a late filing”
- Who checks it before it’s sent“A CPA prepares, reviews, and signs your filing”
- Ready in, as statedNot stated
- Earlier years$399 a year, CPA-prepared; IRS submission is +$49 (“Preparation only; submission separate”)
- RefundsChange-of-mind refunds at its discretion, until 48 hours after payment or until you get client-portal access, whichever comes first
- TrustpilotNo profile found
- Company behind itform5472.ai LLC, Brooklyn, New York, “operated by Tax USA Inc.”
- form5472.onlineSource 8, October 19, 2026
- Price, sent to the IRS$448 if the LLC had no income or expenses, $547 if it did; fax included
- Who checks it before it’s sent“Named licensed CPA preparation and signature”
- Ready in, as stated“Standard filing: 10 business days”; 3 business days for +$199, 24 hours for +$299
- Earlier years$947 for a late year with no activity, which includes a $499 penalty-removal letter it calls “Required alongside the filing package for late filers”
- RefundsNot stated on the pages we read
- Trustpilot4.8 (51 reviews)
- Company behind itTax USA Inc., named on its pricing page
Check whether your LLC fits, then get your forms in one sitting. The check is 14 yes/no questions. If our tool can’t take your case, it tells you before you pay.
Which fits your situation
| If you want | Look at |
|---|---|
| Your forms in one sitting, checked by hand before they’re faxed | 5472Direct ($248, or $199 if you send it yourself) |
| The lowest price, with software checks only | Edetax, Snapfile ($79.99–$89) |
| The provider to prepare the forms, reviewed by an accountant, a specialist or a CPA | Form5472 Prep ($149–$199), form5472.ai ($299), form5472.tax ($299) |
| A CPA to prepare the filing | form5472.online ($448–$547), form5472.ai (from $399), or our CPA partner, TaxClaim (from $750) |
| Earlier tax years (2024 and before) | Most services here: see the Earlier years column. Not 5472Direct yet. |
| A multi-member LLC or a C-corporation | form5472.online, form5472.ai (from $399), form5472.io (multi-member LLCs), Firstbase ($1,799 a year) or TaxClaim. form5472.tax quotes these on WhatsApp. 5472Direct doesn’t support them. |
| Formation, bookkeeping and taxes in one yearly plan | doola, Firstbase |
Our free eligibility check stops the cases our tool doesn’t support before you pay, and refers them to our CPA partner, TaxClaim, the practice of Chirag Lathiya, CPA (Washington State license 56050). TaxClaim pays us a referral fee; it doesn’t increase your price.
Why people choose 5472Direct, and when it’s not for you
- We check your packet by hand before it’s faxed. With IRS Direct Delivery (+$49), we look for missing fields, typos and formatting, usually within 1–12 hours. Then you sign online, and we fax it and email you the transmission receipt.
- Your forms are ready right after you pay, not in days. Form 5472, the pro forma 1120 and the statements that go with them come as PDFs.
- A free check before you pay. 14 yes/no questions. If your case needs more than our tool supports, such as a multi-member LLC, it tells you before you pay and points you to our CPA partner.
- You pay once per filing, with no subscription. Full refund within 30 days, until you download your packet or we fax it.
- Most of our customers type their transactions in by hand: half of our 2026-season filings had 2 or fewer. If yours has many, upload a CSV or connect your bank. Imported transactions come with suggested categories. You review them and can change any of them. The final categories are your decision.
- 100+ LLC filings in the 2026 season, for owners from 50+ countries. Trustpilot 4.6 from 18 reviews (October 19, 2026). Recommended by LLC University.
- Not for you if you need earlier tax years, a multi-member LLC or a C-corporation, advice on your situation, or a CPA’s signature.
More: the forms you’ll get, how filing online works and pricing.
If a formation company set up your LLC
Check your plan before you pay anyone else. Here is what three formation companies’ pricing pages list.
- Stripe AtlasSource 9, October 19, 2026
- Price$500 one-time
- What the pricing page listsIncorporation, the EIN, equity and the 83(b) election. Form 5472 isn’t listed.
- Firstbase Tax FilingSource 10, October 19, 2026
- Price$899 a year ($1,799 for a C-corp or a multi-member LLC)
- What the pricing page lists“Forms 5472” and “Pro Forma Form 1120”, “For Single-Member LLC owned by a non-US citizen or resident”
- doola Tax and ComplianceSource 11, October 19, 2026
- Price$1,999 a year, plus state fees
- What the pricing page lists“federal (IRS) and state tax filing and a 1:1 tax consultation”. Form 5472 isn’t named. The $297-a-year Starter plan lists formation, an EIN and a US business address.
What a filing service can and can’t do
The IRS is clear on the method: “If you are a foreign-owned U.S. DE, you cannot file Form 5472 electronically.” The forms go by “Fax (300 DPI or higher) to 855-887-7737”, or by mail to the IRS PIN Unit in Ogden (IRS i5472).
So every service here ends the same way: a fax or a letter to that IRS number or address, which you can also send yourself. A fax receipt shows the fax was sent. It isn’t confirmation from the IRS.
How we compared
Which services: every service dedicated to Form 5472 that ChatGPT or Google’s AI named as an option in at least 2 of the 24 answers to the buying questions we tracked on October 14 and 19, 2026, and that publishes its price. We added three formation companies, because many owners set up their LLC with one. That leaves out general tax firms, freelance marketplaces and services named once or not at all.
For each service we read its own pages and noted the price of one current-year filing for a foreign-owned single-member LLC (sent to the IRS when it offers that), who checks the forms before they’re sent, how long it takes, earlier years, refund terms, the company its site names, and its Trustpilot score that day.
“Not stated” and “None stated” mean we didn’t find it on the pages we read, not that the provider doesn’t offer it. “None named” means we read its terms and privacy policy in full and neither names a company. We didn’t buy a filing from any other service.
Sources
Each provider’s pages, read on October 19, 2026.
- Edetax: edetax.com, edetax.com/terms, edetax.com/privacy, trustpilot.com/review/edetax.com
- Snapfile: snapfile.tax/pricing, snapfile.tax/terms, snapfile.tax/privacy, snapfile.tax/faq
- form5472.io: form5472.io, form5472.io/legal/terms, form5472.io/legal/privacy
- 5472Direct: 5472direct.com/pricing, 5472direct.com/terms#refunds, trustpilot.com/review/5472direct.com
- Form5472 Prep: form5472prep.com/pricing, form5472prep.com, form5472prep.com/terms, form5472prep.com/privacy, trustpilot.com/review/form5472prep.com
- form5472.ai: form5472.ai, form5472.ai/late-filing?mode=combined, form5472.ai/form-5472-filing-services, form5472.ai/terms-of-service
- form5472.tax: form5472.tax/pricing
- form5472.online: form5472.online/pricing, trustpilot.com/review/form5472.online
- Stripe Atlas: stripe.com/pricing
- Firstbase Tax Filing: firstbase.io/pricing
- doola Tax and Compliance: doola.com/pricing
- TaxClaim: taxclaim.co/services
FAQ
How much does 5472Direct cost?
How is 5472Direct different from cheaper software?
How does 5472Direct compare with Form5472 Prep?
What’s the difference between a software check, a reviewed filing and a CPA-signed one?
Can I e-file Form 5472, or send it myself?
Can I use 5472Direct for prior years?
Can I get a refund from 5472Direct?
5472Direct is document-preparation software, not a CPA firm or law firm, and doesn’t give tax advice. Prices and features of other services are quoted from each provider’s own page on the date shown. Confirm on their site before you buy.

